Dr. Dorceta Taylor awarded the 2018 Rachel Carson Award by National Audubon

Originally published: 
February, 2018

Dr. Dorceta Taylor has been awarded National Audubon Society's 2018 Rachel Carson Award. This renowned and prestigious award highlights women leaders who have made remarkable contributions to the American conservation movement. 

Founded by Allison Whipple Rockefeller, the Rachel Carson Award was launched 15 years ago as a part of the Audubon's Women in Conservation program that seeks to build a national community of women who share knowledge, foster relationships and engage younger women and girls in the most vital and pressing issue of our time. 

The Awards Council acknowledges Dr. Taylor's extensive scholarly contributions that have examined historic inequities ingrained in the founding of our country and in the American environmental movement that have had long lasting impact on our society. The Council notes, "by incorporating the experience of historically un- or under-represented groups in your research, including women, persons of color, individuals with varying sexual identities or orientations, and individuals of low-income, you have built an impressive body of compelling writing work detailing the injustice and barriers of entry that have muted the influence of these groups, while offering intelligent, thoughtful conclusions to stimulate the beginnings of change." 

At SEAS we are also familiar with her commitment to building a more diverse and equitable conservation movement through her dedication to the education and growth of undergraduate and graduate students taking their initial steps into the conservation / environmental field. 

As an awardee Dr. Taylor joins a community of esteemed women including, but not limited to, Frances Beinecke, Peggy M. Sheppard, Dr. Sylvia A. Earle, Lady Bird Johnson, Dr. Kathyrn Sullivan, Maya Lin, Majora Carter. These women -- scientists, activists, artists and policy makers alike have committed their work and lives to advocating for our planet and all who are sustained by it.